News for Calhoun and Liberty County, FL
Banner test

18 men and women honored by being the first to be added to the Calhoun County Firefighters Association Hall of Fame

dsc_0092 dsc_0107 dsc_0111 dsc_0115 dsc_0116 dsc_0119 dsc_0120 dsc_0122 dsc_0126 dsc_0135 dsc_0141 dsc_0147 dsc_0152 dsc_0154 dsc_0160 dsc_0164 dsc_0173 dsc_0179The Calhoun County Firefighters Association held their first annual Hall of Fame Banquet and Induction Ceremony on Monday, Nov. 21 at the Kinard Community Center.

“It was about recognizing and honoring the men and women who laid the groundwork for the fire departments of Calhoun County,” said Assistant President of the Calhoun County Firefighters Organization and Blountstown Fire Chief Ben Hall.

Inductees were treated to a banquet with co-workers, family and friends and awarded a plaque in recognition of the service.

Each department in Calhoun County will have two people inducted annually.

Recipients by Department:

Blountstown FD

Harvey Grantham (served as Chief) and Alfred McCollough (served as Assistant Chief.)

Mossy Pond VFD

Rolf Myhammar (served as Chief) and Georgia Yadus (served as Chief, co-founder of Mossy Pond VFD.)

Kinard VFD

Rodney Johnson (served as Assistant Chief, then firefighter) and Jimmy Yon (served as board member and active fireman.)

Nettle Ridge VFD

Jimmy Lee Holly (first Nettle Ridge Fire Chief) and Joe Bracewell (served as firefighter, helped start Nettle Ridge VFD) and Ricky Hires (served as Chief.)

Scott’s Ferry VFD

Joe Tucker (served as Chief) and Bud Timmons (served as firefighter.)

Clarksville VFD

Preston Nichols and Dennis Hall.

Westside VFD

Bobby Clark (served as Chief)

Altha VFD

Harold Hansford (served as Chief with over 25 years of service) and Pack Bowden (served as Chief with over 25 years of service.)

Magnolia VFD

Gill McDonald (served as Assistant Chief, still active in auxiliary role) and Liz Parrish (currently Secretary Treasurer.)

Leave a Reply